Math Scholarships

Scholarships for Mathematics Students at FGCU

The Department of Mathematics is offering 4 scholarship opportunities for FGCU students.

Ruth L Faith Endowed Scholarship Fund for Women in Mathematics Elizabeth N. Barrick Scholarship Julian Ellis Jr. Memorial Scholarship G. Jeffery Provol Scholarship

Scholarships are open from October 1-May 1 each academic year

Apply Here

Ruth L. Faith Endowed Scholarship Fund for Women in Mathematics

Qualified candidates will:

  • Preference will be given to female candidates; 
  • Recipient(s) will be full-time freshmen;
  • Recipient(s) will be pursuing an undergraduate degree in Mathematics;
  • A minimum of two awards will be made annually.

Elizabeth N. Barrick Scholarship 

Qualified candidates will:

  • Be pursuing a bachelor’s degree; 
  • Hold and maintain a “B” average;
  • Have financial need;
  • Be enrolled full-time and on schedule to graduate within 4.3 years;
  • Be majoring in Mathematics;
  • First preference will be given to students in a FAFSA quandary; 
  • Second preference will be given to students of Collier County.

Julian Ellis, Jr. Memorial Scholarship

Qualified candidates will:

  • Qualified candidates will be enrolled in the College of Arts & Sciences, majoring in the sciences or mathematics;
  • Qualified candidates will be in good academic standing and hold a cumulative grade point average of 2.5 or higher;
  • Using the above criteria, the University will select the recipients;
  • Scholarships will be re-awarded to the previous year's recipients through graduation when possible, provided all criteria continue to be met and academic progress is made.

G. Jeffrey Provol Scholarship

Qualified candidates will 

  • Qualified candidates shall be majoring in Mathematics or one of the Sciences.  However, if a student's career goal is to teach either Mathematics or Science, then Education as an academic major shall also qualify a candidate for scholarship consideration; 
  • Qualified candidates shall have demonstrated academic excellence by maintaining a grade point average of 3.5 or higher;
  • The university shall identify qualified candidates, and the Foundation shall involve the Donor in the final selection of scholarship recipients.